Blog Tour (review and giveaway) for Scream All Night by Derek Milman

 

SCREAM ALL NIGHT

 

Welcome to my stop on the blog tour for Scream All Night by Derek Milman.  I loved this book and I’m excited to share my review with you today.  There will also be a giveaway towards the bottom.  This tour is being hosted by RockStar Book Tours.

 

Title: SCREAM ALL NIGHT

Author: Derek Milman

Pub. Date: July 24, 2018

Publisher: Balzer + Bray

Formats: Hardcover, eBook, audiobook

Pages: 400

Find it: GoodreadsAmazonAudibleB&NiBooksTBD

 

ScreamAllNight_HC_C

 

Summary:

 

A darkly hilarious contemporary realistic young adult novel about growing up and finding your place in the world, perfect for fans of Me and Earl and the Dying Girl and Running With Scissors.


Dario Heyward knows one thing: He’s never going back to Moldavia Studios, the iconic castle that served as the set, studio, and home to the cast and crew of dozens of cult classic B-horror movies. It’s been three years since Dario’s even seen the place, after getting legally emancipated from his father, the infamous director of Moldavia’s creature features.


But then Dario’s brother invites him home to a mysterious ceremony involving his father and a tribute to his first film—The Curse of the Mummy’s Tongue. Dario swears his homecoming will be a one-time visit. A way for him to get closure on his past—and reunite with Hayley, his first love and costar of Zombie Children of the Harvest Sun, a production fraught with real-life tragedy—and say good-bye for good. But the unthinkable happens—Dario gets sucked back into the twisted world of Moldavia and the horrors, both real and imagined, he’s left there.


With only months to rescue the sinking studio and everyone who has built their lives there, Dario must confront the demons of his past—and the uncertainties of his future. But can he escape the place that’s haunted him his whole life?

 

 

My Review:

 

This book really surprised me.  Not only did it have the horror movie setting, but it was funny and touching.

 

First a few warnings for abuse from a parent, mental illness, drug abuse, and miscarriage.  There are also parts that are pretty gory while discussing the movies.  I think most people requesting this are probably ok with gore though.

 

Dario is a 17 year old kid living in a group home.  He left his family home at 12 because of abuse and neglect.  His family home was Moldavia where all his dad’s horror movies were filmed.  Dario’s dad was much older when he was born, and his mom was already having issues with mental illness.  She was eventually committed.  His dad was very abusive with Dario, especially while filming.  Dario is doing well in the group home, especially with his best friend, Jude.  He tries to avoid everything from home.  But his brother, Oren, and old friend, Haley, call to tall him that his dad is dying and he needs to come home.

 

Against his better judgement, Dario returns home from his dad’s funeral.  The only problem is that his dad isn’t dead.  His wish is to be buried alive.   Things don’t go quite as planned and Dario ends up coming back for the summer.  But he brings Jude with him.

 

Dario has to deal with all the issues from his past while learning to get along with Oren, falling for Haley again, and trying to figure out what his future will be.

 

I don’t want to give anything away, but I was surprised at how sad parts of this book was.  There were so many broken people in this book.  But one bright spot for me was Oren.  He was definitely one of the broken people, but he was so outrageous.  I laughed out loud so many times.  But I also wanted to hug him.

 

I also loved the setting for the book.  Derek had a great way of making me feel like I could imagine everything about the castle and the movies that were made there.  I love horror movies, so this was perfect.

 

I ended up giving this book 4  1/2 stars (rounded up to 5 on goodreads).  Thank you to HarperTeen and Edelweiss for giving me a chance to read this one early.

 

 

About Derek:

 

Derek

 

Derek Milman was born in New York City, but grew up in Westchester, NY, where he wrote and published a successful underground humor magazine that caught the attention of the New York Times, who wrote a profile on him at the age of 14.

 

Derek studied English, Creative Writing, and Theater at Northwestern University. He began his career as a playwright (his first play was staged in New York City when he was just out of college), and earned an MFA in acting at the Yale School of Drama.

 

Derek has performed on stages across the country, and appeared in numerous TV shows and films, working with two Academy Award winning film directors.

 

Scream All Night is Derek’s debut YA novel. He currently lives in Brooklyn where he is hard at work on his next book.
Website | Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads

 

 

Giveaway:

 

1 winner will win a signed finished copy of SCREAM ALL NIGHT & swag, US Only.

 

Rafflecopter Link

 

 

Follow The Tour:

 

Tour Schedule:

 

Week One:

7/16/2018- Sweet Southern Home– Excerpt

7/16/2018- YA Books Central– Interview

 

7/17/2018- BookHounds YA– Guest Post

7/17/2018- Always Me– Excerpt

 

7/18/2018- A Dream Within A Dream– Review

7/18/2018- Wonder Struck– Review

 

7/19/2018- Confessions of a YA Reader– Review

7/19/2018- Moonlight Rendezvous– Review

 

7/20/2018- Kat’s Books– Review

7/20/2018- Rhythmicbooktrovert– Review

 

Week Two:

7/23/2018- The Clever Reader– Review

7/23/2018- Smada’s Book Smack– Review

 

7/24/2018- Lisa Loves Literature– Interview

7/24/2018- THE BOOK NUT– Review

 

7/25/2018- A Gingerly Review– Review

7/25/2018- Two Chicks on Books– Excerpt

 

7/26/2018- Daily Waffle– Interview

7/26/2018- Don’t Judge, Read– Interview

 

7/27/2018- Two Points of Interest– Spotlight

7/27/2018- Book-Keeping– Review

 

 

Thank you for stopping by today!

 

 

 

Author: confessionsofayareader

I'm Kristi. I'm a wife, mom, and grandma. I have been breeding leopard geckos for ten years. I love to read and have been trying to review more books (the reason for this blog besides wanting to talk about books with everyone). I also love music and going to concerts, mostly punk and pop punk.

6 thoughts on “Blog Tour (review and giveaway) for Scream All Night by Derek Milman”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s