Review of Heart of Iron by Ashley Poston (digital arc)

 

35181314

 

Heart of Iron by Ashley Poston

 

An action-packed tale full of romance, royalty, and adventure, inspired by the story of Anastasia. Perfect for fans of Six of Crows,Cinder, and the cult classic television show Firefly.

Seventeen-year-old Ana is a scoundrel by nurture and an outlaw by nature. Found as a child drifting through space with a sentient android called D09, Ana was saved by a fearsome space captain and the grizzled crew she now calls family. But D09—one of the last remaining illegal Metals—has been glitching, and Ana will stop at nothing to find a way to fix him.

Ana’s desperate effort to save D09 leads her on a quest to steal the coordinates to a lost ship that could offer all the answers. But at the last moment, a spoiled Ironblood boy beats Ana to her prize. He has his own reasons for taking the coordinates, and he doesn’t care what he’ll sacrifice to keep them.

When everything goes wrong, she and the Ironblood end up as fugitives on the run. Now their entire kingdom is after them—and the coordinates—and not everyone wants them captured alive.

What they find in a lost corner of the universe will change all their lives—and unearth dangerous secrets. But when a darkness from Ana’s past returns, she must face an impossible choice: does she protect a kingdom that wants her dead or save the Metal boy she loves?

 

My thoughts:

 

I really loved Heart of Iron!  It had a great storyline, multiple ships, and was hard to put down.

 

Heart of Iron is told by four narrators.  It took me a bit to get used to, but each had their own distinctive voice.

 

Ana is really the protagonist in the story while the other three just play big parts.  Ana is at the heart of the story.  She is a 17 year old girl who is in love with her metal best fried, Di (D09).  She doesn’t remember her past, but he’s always been there with her.  The captain of their ship, Siege, rescued them years before and she knows no other life.  And she really doesn’t want another life.  She loves being a pirate/thief.  Her shipmates are her family.

 

Di is a metal who doesn’t really have feelings like a human, but he does feel something strong for Ana.  He would do anything for her and to protect her.

 

Jax is the ship captain and I adored him so much.  He could not touch someone without seeing their future and how they die.

 

Robb is an ironblood and is not part of the ship family.  He happens on the ship when Ana steals coordinates that he needs.  Robb is looking for his father who most believe is dead.

 

Metals were created when the Plague infected everyone twenty years before.  The HIVE was created to control rogue Metals.  It took over them and controlled them.  The kingdom lost their royal family during a fire that was blamed on some rogue metals.  They are trying to find a worthy leader, someone who can hold the crown without it rusting.  Robb’s brother is supposed to take over even though it rusts for him.  He is still an ironblood and they don’t believe there are any living members left that are chosen by the Goddess.  The story was told that a female would be born and would be chosen by the goddess herself to rule.  But that daughter perished in the fire the rest of her family.

 

Robb had a tracking chip in his wrist that allowed his mother to find them.  She brings an army of people and takes Ana, Robb, and Jax back to the kingdom.  Siege and the remaining crew must find a way to rescue them.

 

So much more happens, but I don’t want to ruin the story for anyone.  The pacing was good throughout the book.  I shipped Robb & Jax so hard.  Also, Ana and Di.  I also want a little robot like EOS now.

 

I loved Ashley’s Geekerella, but wasn’t sure how I would feel about a sci fi written by her.  But she did not disappoint at all.  I feel that she has a great way of writing characters that I connect to.  I find myself attached to most of them (and some do die in this book).  The writing was really good, too.

 

I really adored the relationships that everyone on the ship had.  They were truly a family that would do anything for each other.

 

“The Iron Kingdom isn’t mine-it’s ours.  We’re the outcasts, the rebels, the refugees-”

 

They were just a great group of characters and I cannot wait to find out what happens in the next book.

 

Thank you to Edelweiss and Harper for the chance to read this book early.  The quote above is from an arc and may be different in the final copy.

 

I gave this one 5 stars.

 

Have you read Heart of Iron yet?  How about Geekerella?  

 

I can’t wait for Ashley’s book event in March.  I will definitely post photos after it!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Author: confessionsofayareader

I'm Kristi. I'm a wife, mom, and grandma. I have been breeding leopard geckos for ten years. I love to read and have been trying to review more books (the reason for this blog besides wanting to talk about books with everyone). I also love music and going to concerts, mostly punk and pop punk.

10 thoughts on “Review of Heart of Iron by Ashley Poston (digital arc)”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s