Blog Tour for Breaking The Ice by Julie Cross (review and giveaway)

 

BreakingTheIceTour

 

Welcome to my stop for the Breaking The Ice blog tour!  I will have my book review below.  There is also a giveaway!

 

Breaking the Ice (Juniper Falls #2)

by Julie Cross

Publication Date:  December 26, 2017

Publisher:  Entangled Teen

 

Breaking the Ice Cover

 

The second book in the Juniper Falls series from NY Times and USA TODAY bestselling author Julie Cross, perfect for fans of Miranda Kenneally and Abbi Glines.

Haley Stevenson seems like she’s got it all together: cheer captain, “Princess” of Juniper Falls, and voted Most Likely to Get Things Done. But below the surface, she’s struggling with a less-than-stellar GPA and still reeling from the loss of her first love. Repeating her Civics class during summer school is her chance to Get Things Done, not angst over boys. In fact, she’s sworn them off completely until college.

Fletcher Scott is happy to keep a low profile around Juniper Falls. He’s always been the invisible guy, warming the bench on the hockey team and moonlighting at a job that would make his grandma blush. Suddenly, though, he’s finding he wants more: more time on the ice, and more time with his infuriatingly perfect summer-school study partner.

But leave it to a girl who requires perfection to shake up a boy who’s ready to break all the rules.

 

Link to Goodreads:

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/34921587-breaking-the-ice   

 

Purchase Links:
Amazon | Amazon Australia | Amazon UK | Amazon Canada | B&N | Kobo | iBooks

 

 

OTHER BOOKS IN THE SERIES:

 

Off-the-Ice-Cover

 

Goodreads:  https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/25538649-off-the-ice

 

 

My Review:

 

Breaking the Ice is the second book in Julie Cross’ Juniper Falls series and it’s just as good as the first one. I was happy to see quite a few familar characters back again.

First I should mention that there is swearing, sex, and teenage drinking in this book. So if that bothers you, it’s probably best to skip it.

Breaking the Ice is told in alternating chapters by Fletcher and Haley.

I adored Haley. She’s a cheerleader, Juniper Falls princess, and popular. But she’s also very sweet and caring. She is taking a civics class in summer school, but she struggles a lot to pay attention and stay still. It’s later mentioned that she might have ADHD.

Fletcher is a little harder to like. But he’s standoffish for a good reason. Fletcher has severe food allergies and asthma. When he was little, someone put nuts in his food on purpose and he almost died. Because of this, Fletcher has issues getting close to and trusting people. He is very smart and is taking civics during summer school as an extra class.

As with book one, quite a bit focuses on the hockey team. Fletcher is determined to make varsity his senior year, but his health does affect this. He finally starts to connect a bit to some other guys because of Haley. Jamie and Leo are such perfect side characters that I loved so much. I need more of them. They both start helping Fletcher out with extra time at the rink.

Fletcher was raised mostly by men, but also by his grandma. She played a big part in the secret job he got. But being raised by men and hanging out with adults at this job kind of messed Fletcher up romantically. He believes that women need to feel power, which is good, but he goes about it in some weird ways. It takes a lot for him to open up about his feelings for Haley. He does get some help from the girls at the club though.

“Women do want to feel powerful,” Angel says, “but we also want to be heard and have our feelings taken seriously.”

Haley starts having feelings for Fletcher pretty early on, but this does cause a lot of issues between them. I did like how Haley was a bit more realistic about high school romances. This was nice to see vs so many of the girls in YA that think high school romance is forever.

“He’ll find his way eventually and meet a girl his own age to practice on. Then break up with. Because that’s what happens with your first love. That’s what happens with all high school loves. Either that or you don’t break up and end up accepting too many of the other person’s faults.”

Jamie added a lot of laughs for me. I would love to see more of him (and Leo) in the next book.

Overall, this was a fun read. I gave it 4 stars.

Thank you to Entangled Teen for providing a copy for review. Quotes are taken from a digital ARC and may change before publication.

 

 

AUTHOR INFO:

 

Julie-Cross_Author-Photo

 

Julie Cross is a NYT and USA Today bestselling author of New Adult and Young Adult fiction, including the Tempest series, a young adult science fiction trilogy which includes Tempest, Vortex, Timestorm (St. Martin’s Press). She’s also the author of Letters to Nowhere series, Whatever Life Throws at You, Third Degree, Halfway Perfect, Chasing Truth, Off the Ice and many more to come! Julie Cross was a longtime resident of central Illinois but has recently moved her entire family across the country to continue her academic studies at Stanford University.

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads

 

 

GIVEAWAY:

Signed copies of Off the Ice and Breaking the Ice + a $25 Amazon Gift Card (US)
* INT winners will receive e-copies of the books

 

 

 

Tour Schedule:
http://www.chapter-by-chapter.com/tour-schedule-breaking-the-ice-by-julie-cross-presented-by-entangled-teen/

 

Chapter-by-Chapter-blog-tour-button

 

 

Advertisements

Author: confessionsofayareader

I'm Kristi. I'm a wife, mom, and grandma. I have been breeding leopard geckos for ten years. I love to read and have been trying to review more books (the reason for this blog besides wanting to talk about books with everyone). I also love music and going to concerts, mostly punk and pop punk.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s