Blog tour (review and giveaway) Haven by Mary Lindsey

 

HavenTour

 

Welcome to my stop on the blog tour for Haven by Mary Lindsey.  Don’t miss the giveaway at the bottom!

 

Haven by Mary Lindsey

Publication Date: November 7, 2017

Publisher: Entangled Teen

 

Haven Cover

 

 

“We all hold a beast inside. The only difference is what form it takes when freed.”

 

Rain Ryland has never belonged anywhere, He’s use to people judging him for his rough background, his intimidating size, and now, his orphan status. He’s always been on the outside, looking in, and he’s fine with that. Until he moves to New Wurzburg and meets Friederike Burkhart.

 

Freddie isn’t like normal teen girls, though. And someone wants her dead for it. Freddie warns he’d better stay far away if he wants to stay alive, but Rain’s never been good at running rom trouble. For the first time, Rain has something worth fighting for, worth living for. Worth dying for.

 

Ancient magic and modern society collide in a sexy, spellbinding romance perfect for fans of C. C. Hunter and Maggie Stiefvater that proves sometimes beauty is the beast…

 

Link to Goodreads:

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/34027316-haven   

 

Purchase Links:

Amazon | Amazon Australia | Amazon UK | Amazon Canada | B&N | iBooks | Kobo

 

 

My Review:

Haven was a fast paced, fun read. I didn’t know too much when I requested this, but was really excited to find out that it was about shifters and magic. The second half of the book was so hard to put down. There was even a murder mystery.

Rain grew up on the streets with his mom. They moved around from shelter to shelter and sometimes had no place to go. His mom made him feel like he was to blame for her terrible life. He had no other family and his father, a supposed one night stand, was dead. Imagine Rain’s surprise when his mom died and he found out he had to go live with his aunt. Ruby was his mom’s twin sister living in a small Texas town called New Wurzburg. Living with Ruby, Rain finds out about his past and finally finds love and affection.

Freddie is standoffish and really only talks to a few select people, mostly cousins. But there is something about her that grabs Rain’s attention right away. There is a connection there that neither can deny. Rain finds Freddie scared and naked multiple times and can’t figure out why there are so many weird things going on in the town. Freddie’s dad died six months earlier. Everyone was told it was an accident, but Freddie knew he was murdered and was determined to figure out who did it and why.

I loved both Rain and Freddie. They were strong characters that didn’t have the best lives. But they were loyal to anyone they cared about. Watching their relationship grow made me happy. I’m not always thrilled with a romance in a mystery type book, but this one was important to the story and worked so well.

Ruby was a suprise for me. Yet again, I found myself attached to an adult a book. She was still hurting over a loss from years before, but she still had a positive attitude and was so loving. It was obvious early on that she would do anything for Rain. Petra was another one that I ended up adoring. She was strange, but it was obvious that she was a sweet, misunderstood girl. Her shock at Rain wanting to be her friend was sad and touching.

The town history was pretty interesting. The Enchanted Rock had different stories, but they both revolved around magic. “It’s said that on a full moon, the power of the earth reaches for the heavens at that one spot, infusing the surrounding area with magic strong enough to change man to beast.”

Without getting into too much of the story, the book is about watchers and weavers. The watchers are werewolves/shifters and the weavers are witches. They both have their own roles to play, but there is a divide on sticking to tradition or trying to change and adapt to new rules. Freddie’s dad was the alpha and she is supposed to be next in line. But there are others who don’t believe a girl can be alpha and they do everything they can to make sure it doesn’t happen.

There is plenty of action in the book, but I can’t get into it much without ruining the book. There are murders and attacks, plus some backstabbing. I really enjoyed Haven and gave it 4 stars.

I received a copy of this book from Entangled Teen for review.

 

 

AUTHOR INFO:

 

Mary Lindsey

 

Mary Lindsey is a multi award-winning, RITA® nominated author of romance for adults and teens. She lives on an island in the middle of a river. Seriously, she does. When not writing, she wrangles her rowdy pack of three teens, two Cairn Terriers, and one husband. Inexplicably, her favorite animal is the giant anteater and at one point, she had over 200 “pet” Madagascar Hissing Cockroaches. The roaches are a long story involving three science-crazed kids and a soft spot for rescue animals. The good news is, the “pet” roaches found a home… somewhere else.

Website | Blog | Twitter | Facebook | Instagram | Pinterest | Goodreads

 

 

Giveaway Info:

The giveaway is for: 

Swag box including books (not Haven) and fun stuff.* 

 

A $15 Amazon gift card will be substituted in place of the prize pack if the winner is international.

 

Rafflecopter Link

 

 

Tour Schedule:

http://www.chapter-by-chapter.com/tour-schedule-haven-by-mary-lindsey/

 

Chapter-by-Chapter-blog-tour-button

 

 

Advertisements

Author: confessionsofayareader

I'm Kristi. I'm a wife, mom, and grandma. I have been breeding leopard geckos for ten years. I love to read and have been trying to review more books (the reason for this blog besides wanting to talk about books with everyone). I also love music and going to concerts, mostly punk and pop punk.

4 thoughts on “Blog tour (review and giveaway) Haven by Mary Lindsey”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s